The results of the APhA Academy of Pharmacy Research and Science (APhA-APRS) election have been announced. APhA-APRS elected Randall J. Voytilla of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania as Chair-Elect for the Basic Sciences Section (2008-2009), Melody Ryan of Lexington, Kentucky as Chair-Elect for the Clinical Sciences Section (2008-2009), and David P. Nau of Lexington, Kentucky, as Chair-Elect for the Economic, Social and Administrative Sciences Section (ESAS) (2008-2009).

Randall J. Voytilla, PharmD, is Instructor of Pharmacy Compounding and Pharmaceutics at Duquesne University. He received his PharmD from Duquesne and is also pursuing a PhD. He currently practices as a community pharmacist for Eckerd Pharmacy in Pittsburgh. Voytilla has enjoyed serving in several APhA-APRS offices including Basic Sciences Section Postgraduate Officer (2003-2004), Executive Committee Postgraduate Officer (2004-2005), and Basic Sciences Member-at-Large (2005-2007). His recent scholarly endeavors include poster presentations and publications of the results of his research on the nondestructive prediction of tablet dissolution and disintegration using near-infrared spectroscopy.

Melody Ryan, PharmD, MPH, received her advance degrees from the University of Kentucky (UK). She completed a pharmacy practice residency at Duke University and a neurosciences fellowship at UK. She holds appointments as Associate Professor in UK's College of Pharmacy, Division of Pharmacy Practice and Science and its College of Medicine, Department of Neurology. Her practice site is the neurology clinic at the Veteran's Affairs medical center in Lexington, Kentucky. Ryan earned her certification in geriatric pharmacy in November 1998, and she attained Board Certified Pharmacotherapy Specialist status in 2000.

David Nau, BPharm, PhD, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice and Science at the University of Kentucky (UK), where he also holds a joint appointment in the Martin School of Public Policy and Administration. He is also the Coordinator of the PhD program in Pharmaceutical Policy at UK. His research has focused on the measurement and improvement of health care quality, particularly in the area of prescription drugs and pharmacy services.

The goal of the APhA Academy of Pharmacy Research and Science is to foster learning and achievement in the pharmaceutical sciences and to stimulate the development and application of outcomes research related to pharmaceutical products and services. Academy members are a source of authoritative information on key scientific issues. The Academy provides a mechanism for experts in all areas of the pharmaceutical sciences to influence APhA's policymaking process.

The American Pharmacists Association, founded in 1852 as the American Pharmaceutical Association, represents more than 60,000 practicing pharmacists, pharmaceutical scientists, student pharmacists, pharmacy technicians, and others interested in advancing the profession. APhA, dedicated to helping all pharmacists improve medication use and advance patient care, is the first-established and largest association of pharmacists in the United States.