View Full Version : David W. Parke II, MD, Assumes Presidency Of American Academy Of Ophthalmology, USA

Medical Videos
02-08-2008, 12:00 PM
David W. Parke II, MD, became the new president of the American Academy of Ophthalmology on Jan. 1, 2008, taking over from departing president C.P. Wilkinson, MD. Dr. Parke is the Edward L. Gaylord Professor and chairman of the Department of Ophthalmology at the University of Oklahoma. He is also president and CEO of the Dean A. McGee Eye Institute in Oklahoma City, Okla.

"There has never been a more exciting time for ophthalmology as medical advances give ophthalmologists breakthrough treatment options to save vision," said Dr. Parke. "Ophthalmology is also faced with challenges ranging from Medicare reimbursement to scope of practice. I look forward to serving the Academy and its members in the year ahead."

Dr. Parke has held numerous leadership positions in the Academy. He has served on the Academy's Board of Trustees since 2000, as trustee-at-large from 2000 to 2001 and subsequently as Senior Secretary for Ophthalmic Practice from 2002 to 2006. He has also served the Academy as: member of the Investment Task Force, Instruction Advisory Committee, Nominating Committee, Awards Committee, Bylaws and Rules Committee; Associate Secretary for Continuing Education; member of the Retina Panel of the Preferred Practice Pattern Committee; and councilor for the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology. He received the Academy's Senior Achievement Award in 1998.

"Few leaders come to this presidency post with this much experience and dedication to the Academy and the profession," said H. Dunbar Hoskins, executive vice president of the Academy. "We are thrilled to have Dr. Parke lead us through this year."

Dr. Parke received his medical degree from Baylor College of Medicine in Houston and completed his residency there in 1981 at the Cullen Eye Institute, followed by a fellowship in medical retina and a subsequent fellowship in surgical retina.

Dr. Parke's other active medical leadership positions include president of the Association of University Professors of Ophthalmology and director of the American Board of Ophthalmology. He serves on multiple professional boards including the Oklahoma Academy of Ophthalmology. He is also on the board of directors of the Ophthalmic Mutual Insurance Company (OMIC) and of Medem, Inc.

About the American Academy of Ophthalmology

AAO is the world's largest association of eye physicians and surgeons-Eye M.D.s-with more than 27,000 members worldwide. Eye health care is provided by the three "O's" - opticians, optometrists and ophthalmologists. It is the ophthalmologist, or Eye M.D., who can treat it all: eye diseases and injuries, and perform eye surgery. To find an Eye M.D. in your area, visit the Academy's Web site at http://www.aao.org. (http://www.aao.org/)

American Academy of Ophthalmology (http://www.aao.org/)